Monroe County Land Bank Corporation

Monroe County, New York

Adam J. Bello
County Executive

Kevin Purcell *Chairperson*

Monroe County Land Bank Corporation Meeting Minutes, January 8, 2025

A meeting of the Monroe County Land Bank Corporation was held on January 8, 2025, at 4:00 p.m. in person, via Zoom, and live streamed on YouTube.

Members Present: Deborah Campanella, Majority Appointment; Robert Franklin, Monroe County Director of

Finance (ex-officio); Amy Grande, Monroe County Real Property Director (ex-officio); Ana Liss, Monroe County Director of Planning and Development (ex-officio); Orlando Ortiz,

County Executive Appointment; Kevin Purcell, Minority Appointment

Others Present: Josh Pheterson, Sr. Deputy County-Attorney; Jamie Raimondi, Sr. Real Estate Paralegal;

Rebecca Case Caico, Director of Research Strategy & Development; Chanh Quach,

Community Development Manager; Hannah Rosicka, County Legislature Assistant; Patrick

Gooch, Sr. Associate Planner; Lisa Huntoon, Planning Clerk

Chairperson Purcell called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m.

Approval of the December 16, 2024 Meeting Minutes

Motion: R. Franklin Seconded: O. Ortiz Vote: Motion Approved

Announcements and Communications

- Land Bank Initiative (LBI) funding request is scheduled to go before the Housing Trust Fund Corporation on January 23, 2025.
- A press conference regarding the Monroe County Land Bank Corporation is scheduled for Tuesday, January 21, 2025. Time to be confirmed.

Committees

There are currently three committees needing to be staffed; Governance, Finance, and Audit. Members received previous communication regarding information and responsibilities for each committee, therefore only a brief description of each committee was read prior to nominations and voting.

Governance Committee:

Chairperson Purcell opened nominations for three Governance positions. A. Liss nominated Kevin Purcell, Deborah Campanella, and Thalia Wright. O. Ortiz seconded the nomination. As there were no other nominations, Chairperson Purcell asked for a motion to close the nominations. D. Campanella made a motion to close the nominations. O. Ortiz seconded the motion. A. Liss made a motion to approve Kevin Purcell, Deborah Campanella, and Thalia Wright as the 2025 Governance Committee members for the Monroe County Land Bank Corporation for a term of one (1) year; O. Ortiz seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Finance Committee:

Chairperson Purcell stated that the bylaws of the Monroe County Land Bank Corporation (MCLBC) require the corporation's treasurer to serve as the Finance Committee Chairperson. Thus Amy Grande, Treasurer, will serve as one of the three available positions. A. Liss nominated Kevin Purcell. Chairperson Purcell nominated Robert Franklin. As there were no other nominations, Chairperson Purcell asked for a motion to close the nominations. O. Ortiz made a motion to close the nominations. D. Campanella seconded the motion. O. Ortiz made a motion to approve Amy Grande, Kevin Purcell and Robert Franklin as the 2025 Finance Committee members for the Monroe County Land Bank Corporation for a term of one (1) year; D. Campanella seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Audit Committee:

Chairperson Purcell opened nominations for three Audit positions and nominated Orlando Ortiz, Ana Liss and Deborah Campanella. As there were no other nominations, Chairperson Purcell asked for a motion to close the nominations. R. Franklin made a motion to close the nominations. A. Liss seconded the motion. A. Grande made a motion to approve Orlando Ortiz, Ana Liss and Deborah Campanella as the 2025 Audit Committee members for the Monroe County Land Bank Corporation for a term of one (1) year; R. Franklin seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Other Business

P. Gooch noted the November 12, 2025 meeting will need to move due to conflicts with the County Legislature schedule and proposed to move the meeting to November 13, 2025, but further communication will be sent out before confirming this date and time.

Policies which need to be reviewed by the newly elected committees will be shared via email. Committees should meet to discuss before the next meeting when they can share changes or potential adoption.

Next Scheduled Meeting

Wednesday, February 12, 2025 at 4:00 p.m.

Adjournment

Motion: O. Ortiz Seconded: D. Campanella Adjournment: 4:21 p.m.

PG/lh