

Department of Public Safety

STOP-DWI Program Monroe County, New York

Adam J. Bello County Executive **Richard V. Tantalo** Director

For Immediate Release April 1, 2025

LOCAL AWARDS CEREMONY RECOGNIZES **EXCEPTIONAL COMMUNITY SERVICE**

Monroe County STOP DWI & Traffic Safety Boards honor local champions

Rochester, NY - The 2025 STOP-DWI & Traffic Safety Board Awards Luncheon was held on Wednesday, March 26, 2025 at the Shadow Lake Golf and Racquet Club. This is an annual event that recognizes outstanding efforts by law enforcement officers, other first responders, traffic safety advocates, community members and more to keep roads safe from unsafe drivers.

Richard V. Tantalo, Monroe County's Director of Public Safety, welcomed the 140 individuals attending, and then Monroe County Executive Adam Bello shared remarks. This year's featured speaker was ADA Merrick Sadler, Chief of Vehicular Crimes Bureau at Monroe County District Attorney's Office.

Below is a list of award recipients:

The Top Cop Award is presented to a Monroe County law enforcement officer who exemplifies a superior and well-rounded commitment to prevention of impaired driving through education, arrests, and training. This year's recipient was Deputy Gerald Ludwig from the Monroe County Sheriff's Office.

The Jim Pond Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an individual who exemplifies commitment to promoting safe roadways and reducing traffic injuries in our community over an extended and significant period of time. This year's recipient was Ronald Hinz from Learn 2 Ride, Inc. Ron served on the Monroe County Traffic Safety Board for over 20 years.

Traffic Safety Board Community Service Awards are presented to individuals who demonstrate extra effort beyond their job-related responsibilities in preventing traffic-related injuries. This year's recipients were:

Lieutenant Stephen Sinaguglia, Irondequoit Fire District The Henrietta Fire District Erin Agnello, Injury Free Coalition for Kids - URMC Deputy Khadija Fong, Monroe County Sheriff's Office



Department of Public Safety

STOP-DWI Program Monroe County, New York **Richard V. Tantalo** County Executive Director

The Mark Tuohey Jr. Award is presented to an individual for outstanding commitment to the issue of traffic safety within the community with a focus on innovative program creation. This year's recipient was:

Rochester City Council Member Mitch Gruber

Adam J. Bello

Traffic Safety Board Certificates of Merit are presented when a peer or coworker recognizes an individual's notable contributions in the area of traffic safety. This year's recipients were:

Officer Joice Barcellos, Brighton Police Department Deputy Tim Murphy, Monroe County Sheriff's Office Deputy Bradley Finn, Monroe County Sheriff's Office Deputy Timothy Quatro, Monroe County Sheriff's Office Sergeant James Coughlin, Gates Police Department Officer Jeremy Millspaugh, Rochester Police Department Officer Aldo Dibisceglie, Rochester Police Department Cody Donahue, Reconnect Rochester

STOP-DWI Agency Appreciation Awards for the highest percentage increase in DWI/DWAI arrests relative to agency size were presented to:

Small Agency Appreciation: Fairport Police Department Medium Agency Appreciation: Webster Police Department Large Agency Appreciation: Monroe County Sheriff's Office

The *Leadership Award* is presented to a leader who continuously exemplifies a superior commitment to the work of impaired driving prevention that helps motivate others. This year's recipients were:

Officer James Thuerck, Rochester Police Department Officer Joseph Bonacci, Rochester Police Department Officer Isaac Lenhard, Greece Police Department Deputy Michael Bentham, Monroe County Sheriff's Office

The Coordinator's Choice Award for continuous innovative efforts to remove impaired people from our roadways and providing support for overall success of our STOP-DWI program was presented to:

Officer Jason Lathrop, Rochester Police Department



Department of Public Safety

STOP-DWI Program Monroe County, New York **Richard V. Tantalo**

County Executive

Adam J. Bello

Director

STOP-DWI Certificates of Appreciation are presented to individuals who are nominated by their peers in recognition of their commitment to impaired driving prevention. This year's recipients were:

Officer Emilie Soliday, Brighton Police Department Officer Jon Eshleman, Gates Police Department Officer David Lauer, Gates Police Department Officer Curtis Miller, Gates Police Department Officer Marc Lawrence, Ogden Police Department Probation Officer Stephen LaSalle, Monroe County Probation Officer Christopher Hill, College at Brockport Police Lieutenant Dennis Schultz, College at Brockport Police Officer Evan Bruckel, Irondequoit Police Department Officer Louis Buduson, Irondequoit Police Department Officer Cory Coene, Webster Police Department Officer Ethan Parrish, Webster Police Department Trooper Timothy Brooks, New York State Police Trooper Justin Statt, New York State Police Trooper John Martek, New York State Police Trooper James Buonaugurio, New York State Police Officer Anthony Pedicone, Rochester Police Department Officer Nicholas Evert, Rochester Police Department Officer Jason Horowitz, Rochester Police Department Officer Kaitlyn Walek, Rochester Police Department Officer Katelyn Brado, Greece Police Department Officer Jeff Phillips, Greece Police Department Officer David Forrester, Greece Police Department Officer Ryan Scheg, Greece Police Department Officer Steven Casey, Greece Police Department

The New York State STOP-DWI program was created by the state Legislature in 1981 to reduce the number of persons killed or injured in alcohol and other drug-related traffic crashes. It is funded entirely by fines paid by defendants when they drive impaired. The program is based on the philosophy that innovative local efforts are the key to solving the impaired driving problem. The Monroe County Traffic Safety Board serves the citizens of Monroe County through efforts which increase highway safety activities and improve highway conditions. They work to help build collaboration amongst all partners.



Community members can make a difference by having a plan to avoid getting behind the wheel of a car when impaired and building awareness for safer driving practices. <u>To learn</u> <u>more</u> about our Traffic Safety and STOP-DWI programs, <u>please visit</u>: <u>https://www.monroecounty.gov/ts.</u>

-30-

For media inquiries, contact:

Lindsay Tomidy, STOP-DWI Coordinator and Traffic Safety Board Executive Secretary 585-753-3017 <u>lindsaytomidy@monroecounty.gov</u>

