

### MONROE COUNTY

## **Recreation and Education Committee**

February 24, 2025 6:00 PM

#### AGENDA

- A. ROLL CALL
- B. PUBLIC FORUM
- C. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

January 28, 2025

D. NEW BUSINESS

25-0036

Authorization to Rename the Lakefront Lodge Located in Webster Park to the "Jamieson Ritter Memorial Lodge" - County Executive Adam J. Bello, Legislators Yversha Roman, Michael Yudelson, Steve Brew, Blake Keller, Jackie Smith, Tracy DiFlorio, Virginia E. McIntyre, Richard B. Milne, Sean McCabe, Kirk Morris, Mark Johns, Paul Dondorfer, Howard Maffucci, John B. Baynes, Susan Hughes-Smith, Frank Ciardi, Dave Long, Rachel Barnhart, Lystra Bartholomew McCoy, Tom Sinclair, Robert J. Colby, Santos E. Cruz, Mercedes Vazquez Simmons, Linda Hasman, Albert Blankley, Carolyn Delvecchio Hoffman, Rose E. Bonnick, Ricky Frazier, William Burgess

## E. OTHER MATTERS

## F. ADJOURNMENT

The next meeting of the Recreation and Education Committee is scheduled for Monday, March 24, 2025 at 6:00 P.M.



# ATTACHMENTS:

Description File Name

1.28.25 Rec & Ed 1.28.25\_Rec\_\_\_Ed\_Minutes.docx Minutes

## Summary of Minutes RECREATION AND EDUCATION COMMITTEE January 28, 2025 5:40 p.m.

Chairman Baynes called the meeting to order at 5:43 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: John B. Baynes (Chair), Lystra Bartholomew McCoy (Vice Chair), Carolyn

Delvecchio Hoffman, Linda Hasman, Mark Johns, Sean McCabe, Tom

Sinclair (RMM), Yversha Román (Ex Officio)

OTHER LEGISLATORS PRESENT: Sean McCabe, Steve Brew, Mark Johns, Frank Ciardi, Virginia McIntyre,

Tom Sinclair, Ricky Frazier, Albert Blankley Michael Yudelson, John B. Baynes, Rachel Barnhart, Howard Maffucci, Tracy DiFlorio, Robert J. Colby

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Adrienne Greene (Legislative Liaison), Michael J. Garland, P.E. (Director)

John Bringewatt (County Attorney), Robert Franklin (Chief Financial

Officer)

<u>PUBLIC FORUM:</u> There were no speakers.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: The minutes of December 17, 2024 were approved as submitted.

**NEW BUSINESS:** 

25-0008 - Authorize Contracts with LaBella Associates, D.P.C. and M/E Engineering, P.C. for Seneca

Park Zoo - Facilities and Grounds Architectural & Engineering Term Services - County

Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Bartholomew McCoy, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Hasman.

ADOPTED: 7-0

25-0009 - Authorize a Contract with Cambridge Seven Associates Architects, P.C. for Professional

Design Services for the "Seneca Park Zoo Tropical Exhibit and Main Entry Plaza" Project –

County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Bartholomew McCoy, SECONDED by Legislator Hasman.

ADOPTED: 7-0

**OTHER MATTERS** 

**ADJOURNMENT**:

There being no other matters, Chairman Baynes adjourned the meeting at 5:53 p.m.

The next Recreation and Education Committee will be Monday, February 24, 2025 at 6:00 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted, Adina Goldstein Second Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Legislature



# ATTACHMENTS:

Description File Name

n Referral R25-0036.pdf



# Office of the County Executive Monroe County Legislature

February 7, 2025

To The Honorable Monroe County Legislature 407 County Office Building Rochester, New York 14614

OFFICIAL FILE COPY
No. 250036
Not to be removed from the Office of the Legislature Of Monroe County
Committee Assignment
REC & ED -L

Subject:

Authorization to Rename the Lakefront Lodge Located in Webster Park to the

"Jamieson Ritter Memorial Lodge"

Honorable Legislators:

We recommend that Your Honorable Body authorize the renaming of the Lakefront Lodge located in Webster Park to the "Jamieson Ritter Memorial Lodge."

Jamieson Ritter was tragically killed in the line of duty on July 4, 2024 while serving and protecting his community as a police officer in Cleveland, Ohio. A 2015 graduate of McQuaid Jesuit High School, Jamieson grew up with a profound desire to serve his country and his community. He graduated from Syracuse University in 2019 and was commissioned as a Second Lieutenant. As a member of the Ohio Army National Guard, he deployed to Syria in 2022 and returned to continue his service with the City of Cleveland.

### The specific legislative actions required are:

- 1. Change the name of the Lakefront Lodge located in Webster Park to the "Jamieson Ritter Memorial Lodge."
- 2. Authorize the County Executive to take appropriate steps to effectuate the name change in an economical and reasonable manner.

This is a Type II Action pursuant to 6 NYCRR §617.5(c)(26) ("routine or continuing agency administration and management, not including new programs or major reordering of priorities that may affect the environment") and is not subject to further review under the State Environmental Quality Review Act.

No additional net County support is required in the current Monroe County budget.

We recommend that this matter be referred to the appropriate committee(s) for favorable action by Your Honorable Body.

Respectfully Submitted,

Adam J. Bello Monroe County Executive Yversha Román President Michael Yudelson Majority Leader Steve Brew Republican Leader

Monroe County Office Building • 39 West Main Street • Rochester, New York 14614 Monroe County Legislature - February 24, 2025

Blake Keller Legislator – District 1

Jackie Smith Legislator – District 2 Tracy DiFlorio Legislator - District 3

ackie Snith Cracy ADIFlorio Virginia C. Mª chotyre

1. Mours

Virginia E. McIntyre Legislator – District 4

Richard B. Milne

Legislator - District 5

Sean McCabe Legislator – District 6 Kirk Morris Legislator – District 7 Mark Johns Legislator – District 8

Mark Johns

Paul Donde

Paul Dondorfer Legislator – District 9

Howard Maffucci Legislator - District 10

John B. Baynes Legislator – District 11 Susan Hughes-Smith Legislator - District 14

HH

Frank Ciardi Legislator – District 15 Dave Long Legislator – District 16 Rachel Barnhart Legislator – District 17

Hachel Cawlant

Lystra Bartholomew McCoy Legislator – District 18

Thom. M. Sinclus?

Tom Sinclair Legislator – District 19 Robert J. Colby Legislator – District 20 Santos E. Cruz Legislator – District 21 Mercedes Vazquez Simmons Legislator – District 22

Linda Hasman

Legislator – District 23

Albert Blankley Legislator – District 24 Carolyn Delvecchio Hoffman Legislator – District 25 Rose E. Bonnick Legislator – District 27

Ricky Frazier Legislator – District 28

William Burgess Legislator – District 29