APPROVED

Summary of Minutes PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE December 17, 2024 5:30 p.m.

Chairman Long called the meeting to order at 6:07 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Dave Long (Chair), Howard Maffucci (Vice Chair), William

Burgess, Susan Hughes-Smith, Mercedes Vazquez Simmons, Santos Cruz, Paul Dondorfer (RMM), Robert Colby, Tracy

DiFlorio, *Richard B. Milne, Jackie Smith

(*Legislator Milne Participated Via Videoconference)

OTHER LEGISLATORS PRESENT: Blake Keller, Steve Brew, Virginia McIntyre, Sean McCabe,

Mark Johns, Kirk Morris, Lystra Bartholomew McCoy, John B. Baynes, Linda Hasman, Rachel Barnhart, Albert Blankley,

Carolyn Delvecchio Hoffman

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Robert Franklin (CFO), John Bringewatt (County Attorney),

Laura Smith (Chief Deputy County Attorney), Tim Henry (Public Safety Deputy Director), Adrienne Green (Legislative Liaison), Clement Chung (DES Deputy Director), Sean Murphy (Chief of Engineering & Facilities), Kristine Durante (Probation Administrator), Jennifer Curley (Sheriff's Admin), Alyssa Tallo (MCH Director), Amy Grower (Chief of Staff), Kim Hinkley (Sheriff's Counsel), Dawn Staub (DA Admin), Andy Moore (Airport Director), Michael Garland (DES Director), Richard Tantalo (Public Safety Director), Korey Brown (Undersheriff), Paul Ciminelli (Sheriff's Legal Advisor)

<u>PUBLIC FORUM</u>: There were no speakers.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: The minutes of September 24, 2024 were approved as

submitted.

NEW BUSINESS:

24-0446 - Acceptance of a Grant from the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets for the Petroleum Product Quality Program – County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Vazquez Simmons.

ADOPTED: 11-0

24-0447 - Acceptance of a Grant from the United States Department of Justice-Drug Enforcement Administration for the DEA Task Force - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Vazquez Simmons.

ADOPTED: 11-0

Public Safety Committee December 17, 2024 Page 2

24-0448 - Acceptance of a Grant from the United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives for the ATF-Monroe County Sheriff's Office Firearm/Explosive Task Force - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Vazquez Simmons. <u>ADOPTED</u>: 11-0

24-0449 - <u>Authorize a Contract with Ron Smith & Associates, Inc. for Fingerprinting Accreditation</u> - County Executive Adam J. Bello

MOVED by Legislator Maffucci, <u>SECONDED</u> by Legislator Vazquez Simmons. <u>ADOPTED</u>: 11-0

OTHER MATTERS:

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no other matters, Chairman Long adjourned the meeting at 6:26 p.m.

The next Public Safety Committee Meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 28, 2025 at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, David Grant Clerk of the Legislature